TTY: Contact Here

Mon - Fri: 9:00am - 5:00pm

Saturday - Sunday Closed

34 Dodd Street, Wembley

Western Australia 6014

Who We Are

Our History

Prior to 1921, there were no formal facilities or premises for Deaf people in WA. Informal gatherings often took place at the Levitzke family bakery in Midland. On 9 July 1921, twelve Deaf people met at the home of R.B. Jeffrey’s parents at 47 Railway Parade, Mt Lawley. It was at this meeting that a committee was formed.

The Society was recognised by the Register of Companies on the 31 January 1930 as the “The Western Australian Adult Deaf and Dumb Society”.

During an Annual General Meeting on 28 September 1968, a majority vote by members led to the Society being renamed as ‘The Western Australian Deaf Society’.

The Society began a strategic review process in 2015 and as a result of the feedback received determined that a brand refresh was required to support its strategic direction to diversify service offerings, strengthen existing and develop new partnerships, and ensure access to more services. In 2018 the new brand of AccessPlus WA Deaf was launched.

Our Board

The Board of Directors comprises of a group of dedicated individuals, from a range of backgrounds, including experience with the Deaf community, marketing, finance, law and education.

Selected for their diversity and skills, board members hold office for a period of three years and have the option of re-nominating at the end of each term.

Board positions are currently held by the following members:

Annette Perrin
Gerry Rayner
Deputy Chairperson
Shane Buise
Treasurer/Chair Audit Investment & Risk Committee
David Gibson
Gillian Arkell
Narenne Barrett
Clint Ford
Director/ Chair Marketing & Fundraising Committee
Murray Nicholson
Millie Richmond Scott
Jakkie Skinner
Geoff Smith

Our Staff

In reflection of our Purpose and Values, the AccessPlus WA Deaf employs Deaf, Hard of Hearing and hearing staff members to provide services to the community. Please see below for a full list of our current members of staff.

Download our current Organisational Chart for more information.

Leadership Team

David Gibson
Chief Executive Officer
Damian Thorp
Corporate Services Manager
Peter Meredith
Business & Service Development Manager
Jayde Perry
Access Interpreting Manager
Tilly Poole
Senior Project Officer
Kelly Anne Kelly
Access MyLife& Access MyNDIS Manager

AccessPlus Corporate Services Team

Damian Thorp
Corporate Services Manager
Edwin Tan
Account Clerk
Linda Cross
Marketing and Fundraising Coordinator
Patricia Hopkins
Peter Meredith
Business & Service Development Manager
Tilly Poole
Senior Project Officer

Jayde Perry
Access Interpreting Manager
Sarah Morton
Senior Bookings Officer
Stacey Young
Booking Officer
Alison Kingston
Part Time Booking Officer/ EA
Adrian Chia
Staff Interpreter
Cat Edmunds
Staff Interpreter
Suzie Scott
Staff Interpreter
Cara Smith
Staff Interpreter

Kelly Anne Kelly
AccessMyLife Manager
Joanne Pelham
Senior Support Worker
Jenny Pupich
Community Support Worker
Position Vacant
Occupational Therapist
Position Vacant
Speech Therapist

Nobuo Hara
Team Leader
Domenico Ventura
Auslan Tutor

Kelly Anne Kelly
AccessMyNDIS Manager
Azita Samandari
NDIS Information Officer
Elliott Lynch
Community Liaison Officer and IRO for Legal & General
Renae Brennan
IRO for Health
Alan Cross
IRO for Sport, Recreation & Training
Pam MacLean
IRO for Seniors & Housing
Dylan Malden
IRO for Youth, LGBTIQ & Assistive Technology

Work for us

If you are interested in joining the AccessPlus team, please see the vacancies below.

No Results Found

The page you requested could not be found. Try refining your search, or use the navigation above to locate the post.